AFL Norm Smith Medal

To have the opportunity to play in an AFL Grand Final is the ultimate goal for all AFL players. To be awarded a medal as the best player on the day can make it even more special. The Norm Smith Medal is the award presented annually to the player adjudged the best on the ground in the Grand Final of the Australian Football League (AFL).  The award is named in honour of Norm Smith, who won four VFL premierships as a player and six as a coach for the Melbourne Football Club.

Norm Smith Medal

Norm Smith Medal Winners

1979Wayne HarmesCarlton
1980Kevin BartlettRichmond
1981Bruce DoullCarlton
1982Maurice RioliRichmond
1983Colin RobertsonHawthorn
1984Billy DuckworthEssendon
1985Simon MaddenEssendon
1986Gary AyresHawthorn
1987David Rhys-JonesCarlton
1988Gary AyresHawthorn
1989Gary Ablett Sr.Geelong
1990Tony ShawCollingwood
1991Paul DearHawthorn
1992Peter MateraWest Coast
1993Michael LongEssendon
1994Dean KempWest Coast
1995Greg WilliamsCarlton
1996Glenn ArcherNorth Melbourne
1997Andrew McLeodAdelaide
1998Andrew McLeod (2)Adelaide
1999Shannon GrantNorth Melbourne
2000James HirdEssendon
2001Shaun HartBrisbane Lions
2002Nathan BuckleyCollingwood
2003Simon BlackBrisbane Lions
2004Byron PickettPort Adelaide
2005Chris JuddWest Coast
2006Andrew EmbleyWest Coast
2007Steve JohnsonGeelong
2008Luke HodgeHawthorn
2009Paul ChapmanGeelong
2010Lenny HayesSt Kilda
Scott PendleburyCollingwood
2011Jimmy BartelGeelong
2012Ryan O’KeefeSydney
2013Brian LakeHawthorn
2014Luke HodgeHawthorn
2015Cyril RioliHawthorn
2016Jason JohannisenWestern Bulldogs
2017Dustin MartinRichmond
2018Luke ShueyWest Coast
2019Dustin MartinRichmond
2020Dustin MartinRichmond