AFL Brownlow Medal

Brownlow Medal

To every player in the AFL, next to the ultimate goal of winning a premiership, is the dream of one day being awarded the Brownlow medal. The Charles Brownlow Trophy, better known as the Brownlow Medal (and informally as “Charlie”), is acknowledged as the highest individual honour in the sport of Australian rules football. It is awarded to the “fairest and best” player in the Australian Football League (AFL) during the home-and-away season. Voting for the Brownlow Medal is conducted by field umpires, immediately after each home-and-away match, with three votes awarded for the player they believed to have been the best on the ground, two votes for the second-best player and one vote for the third-best player on the day, in their opinion.

Charles Brownlow was an esteemed Geelong Football Club player, club secretary, and VFL president. In 1924 Brownlow passed away following a prolonged illness; that same year, the VFL created the medal in his honour. The medal has been awarded every year since 1924, except for a brief break from 1942-1945 due to World War II. 

Chas Brownlow
Charles Brownlow

The blue and gold medal with bold text stating “CHAS BROWNLOW TROPHY” is instantly recognisable, and has remained almost the same in shape, size, and design since its creation, except for the change in monogram from VFL to AFL in 1990.

Bownlow medal

Brownlow Medal Winners

1924Edward Greeves Jr.Geelong7
1925Colin WatsonSt Kilda9
1926Ivor Warne-SmithMelbourne9
1927Syd CoventryCollingwood7
1928Ivor Warne-SmithMelbourne8
1929Albert CollierCollingwood6
1930Harry CollierCollingwood4
Allan HopkinsFootscray4
Stan JudkinsRichmond4
1931Haydn Bunton Sr.Fitzroy26
1932Haydn Bunton Sr.Fitzroy23
1933Wilfred “Chicken” SmallhornFitzroy18
1934Dick ReynoldsEssendon19
1935Haydn Bunton Sr.Fitzroy24
1936Denis RyanFitzroy26
1937Dick ReynoldsEssendon27
1938Dick ReynoldsEssendon18
1939Marcus WhelanCollingwood23
1940Des FothergillCollingwood32
 Herbie MatthewsSouth Melbourne32
1941Norman WareFootscray23
1946Don CordnerMelbourne20
1947Bert DeaconCarlton20
1948Bill MorrisRichmond24
1949Col Austen[i]Hawthorn23
Ron CleggSouth Melbourne23
1950Allan RuthvenFitzroy21
1951Bernie SmithGeelong23
1952Roy WrightRichmond21
Bill HutchisonEssendon21
1953Bill HutchisonEssendon26
1954Roy WrightRichmond29
1955Fred GoldsmithSouth Melbourne21
1956Peter BoxFootscray22
1957Brian GleesonSt Kilda24
1958Neil RobertsSt Kilda20
1959Verdun HowellSt Kilda20
Bob SkiltonSouth Melbourne20
1960John SchultzFootscray20
1961John JamesCarlton21
1962Alistair LordGeelong28
1963Bob SkiltonSouth Melbourne20
1964Gordon CollisCarlton27
1965Noel TeasdaleNorth Melbourne20
Ian StewartSt Kilda20
1966Ian StewartSt Kilda21
1967Ross SmithSt Kilda24
1968Bob SkiltonSouth Melbourne24
1969Kevin MurrayFitzroy19
1970Peter BedfordSouth Melbourne25
1971Ian StewartRichmond21
1972Len ThompsonCollingwood25
1973Keith GreigNorth Melbourne27
1974Keith GreigNorth Melbourne27
1975Gary DempseyFootscray20
1976Graham MossEssendon48
1977Graham TeasdaleSouth Melbourne59
1978Malcolm BlightNorth Melbourne22
1979Peter MooreCollingwood22
1980Kelvin TempletonFootscray23
1981Bernie QuinlanFitzroy22
Barry RoundSouth Melbourne22
1982Brian WilsonMelbourne23
1983Ross GlendinningNorth Melbourne24
1984Peter MooreMelbourne24
1985Brad HardieFootscray22
1986Robert DiPierdomenicoHawthorn17
Greg WilliamsSydney17
1987John PlattenHawthorn20
Tony LockettSt Kilda20
1988Gerard HealySydney20
1989Paul CouchGeelong22
1990Tony LiberatoreFootscray18
1991Jim StynesMelbourne25
1992Scott WyndFootscray20
1993Gavin WanganeenEssendon18
1994Greg WilliamsCarlton30
1995Paul KellySydney21
1996James HirdEssendon21
Michael VossBrisbane Bears21
1997Robert HarveySt Kilda26
1998Robert HarveySt Kilda32
1999Shane CrawfordHawthorn28
2000Shane WoewodinMelbourne24
2001Jason AkermanisBrisbane Lions23
2002Simon BlackBrisbane Lions25
2003Mark RicciutoAdelaide22
Nathan BuckleyCollingwood22
Adam GoodesSydney22
2004Chris JuddWest Coast30
2005Ben CousinsWest Coast20
2006Adam GoodesSydney26
2007Jimmy BartelGeelong29
2008Adam CooneyWestern Bulldogs24
2009Gary Ablett Jr.Geelong30
2010Chris JuddCarlton30
2011Dane SwanCollingwood34
2012Sam MitchellHawthorn26
Trent CotchinRichmond26
2013Gary Ablett Jr.Gold Coast28
2014Matt PriddisWest Coast26
2015Nat FyfeFremantle31
2016Patrick DangerfieldGeelong35
2017Dustin MartinRichmond36
2018Tom MitchellHawthorn28
2019Nat FyfeFremantle33
2020Lachie NealeBrisbane Lions31
2021Ollie WinesPort Adelaide36
2020 Brownlow Medal Winner -  Lachie Neale
2020 Brownlow Medal Winner – Lachie Neale