2013 AFL Grand Final

Match Summary

Hawthorne made amends for their 2012 grand final loss to the Sydney Swans with a 15 point win over the Fremantle dockers in the 2013 AFL grand final. Hawthorn led the match from start to finish but was outplayed for significant periods. It is the only grand final which Champion Data has assessed as having been won by the poorer side on the day, as Fremantle were left to rue their opportunities they were unable to convert. The 117th annual grand final of the Australian Football League (formerly the Victorian Football League) was played on the 28th of September in front of a crowd of  100,007 spectators at the MCG. The Win by the Hawthorne Hawks marked the club’s eleventh VFL/AFL premiership victory. Hawthorn’s Brian Lake was awarded the Norm Smith Medal as the best player on the ground.

Norm Smith Medallist – Brian Lake

Team Matchups


B: 24 Ben Stratton 17 Brian Lake 18 Brent Guerra
HB: 9 Shaun Burgoyne 6 Josh Gibson 14 Grant Birchall
C: Isaac Smith 5 Sam Mitchell 3 Jordan Lewis
HF: 22 Luke Breust 23 Lance Franklin 33 Cyril Rioli
F: 28 Paul Puopolo 2 Jarryd Roughead 20 David Hale
Foll: 39 Max Bailey 12 Brad Sewell 15 Luke Hodge (c)
Int: 26 Liam Shiels 19 Jack Gunston 10 Bradley Hill 32 Jonathan Simpkin (sub)
Coach: Alastair Clarkson


B: 41 Paul Duffield 3 Zac Dawson 37 Michael Johnson
HB: 6 Danyle Pearce 18 Luke McPharlin 34 Lee Spurr
C: 13 Tendai Mzungu 15 Ryan Crowley 16 David Mundy
HF: 7 Nathan Fyfe 23 Chris Mayne 33 Cameron Sutcliffe
F: 10 Michael Walters 29 Matthew Pavlich (c) 30 Zac Clarke
Foll: 31 Aaron Sandilands 9 Matt de Boer 32 Stephen Hill
Int: 1 Hayden Ballantyne 8 Nick Suban 21 Michael Barlow 27 Lachie Neale (sub)
Coach: Ross Lyon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.