2012 AFL Grand Final

Match Summary

The 2012 AFL Grand Final will go down as one of the greatest showdowns in AFL history. In a game most thought Hawthorne would be victorious, it was Sydney and their relentless pressure and never give in attitude that willed their team to a 10 point victory. Sydney looked down and out when Hawthorn booted the first two goals of the final term but the last 10 minutes went in favour of the Swans,  with goals to Adam Goodes and Nick Malceski effectively sealing the game for Sydney.  The 2012 AFL grand final took place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 29 September 2012 in front of a crowd of 99,683 spectators.  Sydney’s Ryan O’Keefe was awarded the Norm Smith Medal as the best player on the ground.

Norm Smith Medallist – Ryan O’keefe

2012 AFL Grand Final Team Matchups


B: 14 Grant Birchall 6 Josh Gibson 24 Ben Stratton
HB: 4 Matt Suckling 25 Ryan Schoenmakers 9 Shaun Burgoyne
C: 3 Jordan Lewis 5 Sam Mitchell 8 Xavier Ellis
HF: 19 Jack Gunston 23 Lance Franklin 16 Isaac Smith
F: 33 Cyril Rioli 2 Jarryd Roughead 22 Luke Breust
Foll: 20 David Hale 15 Luke Hodge (c) 12 Brad Sewell
Int: 11 Clinton Young 26 Liam Shiels 28 Paul Puopolo 21 Shane Savage (sub)
Coach: Alastair Clarkson


B: 2 Rhyce Shaw 25 Ted Richards 29 Martin Mattner
HB: 34 Alex Johnson 39 Heath Grundy 40 Nick Smith
C: 32 Lewis Jetta 15 Kieren Jack 4 Dan Hannebery
HF: 14 Craig Bird 20 Sam Reid 5 Ryan O’Keefe
F: 3 Jarrad McVeigh (c) 37 Adam Goodes 30 Lewis Roberts-Thomson
Foll: 41 Shane Mumford 12 Josh Kennedy 24 Jude Bolton
Int: 9 Nick Malceski 38 Mike Pyke 10 Mitch Morton 26 Luke Parker (sub)
Coach: John Longmire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.