2011 AFL Grand Final



Match Summary

The 2011 AFL Grand Final was contested between the Collingwood Football Club and the Geelong Football Club. The Geelong football club was victorious in the end by 38 points and helped up the premiership cup to mark their ninth ever VFL/AFL premiership victory. The victory was Geelong’s third premiership in five seasons, to go with its 2007 and 2009 triumphs. The game was held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 1 October 2011 in front of a crowd of 99,537 spectators. The Cats trailed by 18 points during the second quarter and were still down at half-time, but a Tom Hawkins-inspired second half steered the Cats to a 18.11 (119) to 12.9 (81) win, Geelong’s Jimmy Bartel was awarded the Norm Smith Medal as the best player on the ground.

Norm Smith Medallist – Jimmy Bartel

2011 AFL Grand Final Team Matchups


B: 34 Alan Toovey 20 Ben Reid 8 Harry O’Brien
HB: 5 Nick Maxwell (c) 2 Chris Tarrant 39 Heath Shaw
C: 11 Jarryd Blair 36 Dane Swan 13 Dale Thomas
HF: 26 Ben Johnson 15 Leigh Brown 4 Alan Didak
F: 22 Steele Sidebottom 32 Travis Cloke 12 Luke Ball
Foll: 18 Darren Jolly 10 Scott Pendlebury 7 Andrew Krakouer
Int: 1 Leon Davis 31 Chris Dawes 21 Sharrod Wellingham 35 Alex Fasolo (sub)
Coach: Mick Malthouse


B: 8 Josh Hunt 30 Matthew Scarlett 13 Tom Lonergan
HB: 44 Corey Enright 7 Harry Taylor 40 David Wojcinski
C: 14 Joel Selwood 3 Jimmy Bartel 4 Andrew Mackie
HF: 20 Steve Johnson 26 Tom Hawkins 5 Travis Varcoe
F: 12 Trent West 31 James Podsiadly 35 Paul Chapman
Foll: 6 Brad Ottens 45 Cameron Ling (c) 11 Joel Corey
Int: 9 James Kelly 27 Mathew Stokes 28 Allen Christensen 22 Mitch Duncan (sub)
Coach: Chris Scott

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.