2010 AFL Grand FInal

1st Grand Final Score

St Kilda3.

2nd Grand Final Score

St Kilda0.

Match Summary

Only three times in VFL/AFL history a grand final has ended in a draw – in the years of 1948, 1977 and now in 2010. The 2010 AFL Grand Final against Collingwood and the St Kilda Saints dew in an epic showdown at 68 points each. This drawn game is an extremely rare occurrences that resulted in a second rematch game to be played the following week to determine the Premiership winner. The premiership is usually decided by a single match; however, as the first grand final ended in a draw, a grand final replay was played the following week and was won by Collingwood in the end. Both grand finals were held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne. The first was held on 25 September 2010. The game was attended by 100,016 spectators, the highest crowd for a VFL/AFL game since the 1986 VFL Grand Final.

Norm Smith Medallist Game 1- Lenny Hayes

Norm Smith Medalist Game 2 – Scott Pendlebury

Team Matchups


B: 5 Nick Maxwell (c) 16 Nathan Brown 34 Alan Toovey
HB: 8 Harry O’Brien 20 Ben Reid 39 Heath Shaw
C: 21 Sharrod Wellingham 36 Dane Swan 26 Ben Johnson
HF: 4 Alan Didak 32 Travis Cloke 12 Luke Ball
F: 17 Dayne Beams 31 Chris Dawes 22 Steele Sidebottom
Foll: 18 Darren Jolly 10 Scott Pendlebury 13 Dale Thomas
Int: 47 Jarryd Blair 30 Brent Macaffer 1 Leon Davis 15 Leigh Brown
Coach: Mick Malthouse[38]

St Kilda

B: 27 Jason Blake 43 Zac Dawson 10 Steven Baker
HB: 18 Brendon Goddard 25 Samuel Fisher 19 Sam Gilbert
C: 22 Farren Ray 7 Lenny Hayes 26 Nick Dal Santo
HF: 32 Andrew McQualter 23 Justin Koschitzke 38 Clinton Jones
F: 44 Stephen Milne 12 Nick Riewoldt (c) 1 Jason Gram
Foll: 2 Steven King 11 Leigh Montagna 13 Adam Schneider
Int: 14 Luke Ball 16 Raphael Clarke 24 Sean Dempster 15 Michael Gardiner
Coach: Ross Lyon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.