Shane Crawford is an all-time great footballer who played for the Hawthorn Hawks in the AFL between the years of 1993 and 2008. Crawford was selected by the Hawks at there 13th pick in 1991 and made his debut in 1993. He played 15 seasons for a total of 305 senior games for the Hawthorn Football Club, won four Hawthorn Best & Fairest Awards (1998, 1999, 2002, 2003) and played in Hawthornes 2008 premiership side. He became captain of Hawthorn in 1999 and that season also won the AFL’s top individual honours, the Brownlow Medal and the Leigh Matthews Trophy. He retired from senior football after the 2008 premiership season despite being offered another year with the Hawks. You will now often see him as a TV personality, appearing regularly on Nine Network shows, the AFL Footy Show, Getaway, Postcards and Kids’ WB.

In 2012, Crawford was inducted in the Australian Football Hall of Fame. He will be remembered as one of the greatest midfielders in the modern era of AFL football

Playing Career

1993 – 2008 Hawthorn





Playing Honours

  • AFL premiership player: 2008
  • Brownlow Medal: 1999
  • AFLPA MVP (Leigh Matthews Trophy): 1999
  • 4× All-Australian team: 1996, 1998, 1999, 2002
  • 4× Peter Crimmins Memorial Trophy: 1998, 1999, 2002, 2003
  • Media Association Player of the Year: 1999
  • Hawthorn Captain: 1999–2004
  • AFL Rising Star nominee: 1993
  • AFL pre-season premiership: 1999
  • Australian Football Hall of Fame
  • Alex Jesaulenko Medal: 1998

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *