Nathan Buckley

Nathan Buckley is a former professional Australian rules football player, commentator and now coach if the Collingwood football club.

Buckley’s career started in 1993 at the Brisbane Bears where he emerged as one of the brightest prospects in the league after claiming the inaugural AFL Rising Star Award. After only a year with the bears, Buckley then moved to Collingwood Football Club ahead of the 1994 season where he was soon to become one of the club’s greatest players.

Nathan Buckley is one of the AFL’s most decorated players after having achieved great heights during his 280 game career. He won the Brownlow Medal in 2003 sharing the win with fellow greats Adam Goodes and Mark Ricciuto. Buckley won the Copeland Trophy, Collingwood’s Best and Fairest Medal, six times whilst also earning All-Australian titles on seven occasions. In conjunction with Buckley’s incredible achievements, he was also appointed Captain of Collingwood between 1999-2007 (161 games) which saw him become Collingwood’s longest serving captain. During this time, Nathan captained his side to two AFL Grand Finals (2002, 2003) however, unfortunately fell short of a premiership cup. Despite his team’s loss, Buckley starred in both these games with leading disposals in each contest whilst winning the Norm Smith Medal in 2002.

He retired at the conclusion of the 2007 AFL season and became a commentator for the Seven Network. The Collingwood Football Club signed Buckley as an assistant coach for seasons 2010 and 2011 and as senior coach in 2012 and this position is still current. During his time as senior coach, Buckley has taken his team to two finals campaigns. 

In 1997 Nathan Buckley was named in Collingwood’s Team of the Century and in 2011 was inducted into the AFL Hall of Fame and became a Legend in the AFLNT Hall of Fame the following year.

Playing Career

1993 Brisbane Bears, 1994 – 2007 Collingwood





Playing Honours

  • Brownlow Medal: 2003
  • 7× All-Australian team: 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003
  • 6× Copeland Trophy: 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2003
  • Norm Smith Medal: 2002
  • Collingwood captain: 1999–2007
  • Collingwood Team of the Century
  • AFLCA Champion Player of the Year: 2003
  • AFL Rising Star: 1993
  • Magarey Medal: 1992
  • Jack Oatey Medal: 1992
  • SANFL premiership player: 1992
  • Port Adelaide (SANFL) best and fairest: 1992


  • AFLCA Coach of the Year: 2018

Coaching Career

2012 – Current Collingwood



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.