Greg Williams is a legend of the game of Australian rules football. He represented Geelong, the Sydney Swans and Carlton in the Australian Football League (AFL) during the 1980s and 1990s for a total of 250 games. He scored 217 goals during his decorated career.

Williams was one of the best centres in the history of the game. He perfected the art at handpassing and was the most prolific user of the skill during his era. The hallmark of Williams’ play was his ability to win ground contests, and almost immediately free the ball to nearby teammates via quick, accurate handpassing. Williams lacked in speed and could not take a strong overhead mark but made up for it with, strength and determination to win contested football.

Williams is a  dual Brownlow Medal winner with a medal awarded in 1986 and 1994, playing for Sydney and Carlton respectively. He was a two-time All-Australian (1993, 1994) including as Captain in the latter year, and two-time AFLPA MVP (1985, 1994). He won an AFL Premiership with Carlton in 1995, awarded the Norm Smith Medal for best-on-ground in the Grand Final, kicking five goals. Greg Williams became the first player to win a Brownlow Medal, a Premiership Medallion, and Norm Smith Medal across his career.

Greg Williams was announced in the AFL Team of the Century in 1996, and was inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame in 2001. He was also included into the Team of the Century for two Clubs he represented – Sydney (2009) and Carlton (1999).

Playing Career

1984 – 1985 Geelong, 1986 – 1991 Sydney, 1992 – 1997 Carlton





Playing Honours

  • 2× Brownlow Medal: 1986, 1994
  • 2× AFLPA MVP: 1985, 1994
  • 2× All-Australian team: 1993, 1994
  • Geelong Best & Fairest: 1985
  • Carlton Best & Fairest: 1994
  • Norm Smith Medal: 1995
  • AFL Premiership: 1995
  • All Australian captain 1994
  • Carlton Vice Captain: 1993
  • AFL Team of the Century – Interchange
  • Australian Football Hall of Fame
  • Carlton Team of the Century – Centre
  • Sydney Team of the Century –Centre
  • Carlton Hall of Fame
  • Sydney/South Melbourne Hall of Fame
  • 2× All-Australian team: 1986, 1987

2 thoughts on “Greg Williams”

  1. I rate Greg Williams as the greatest centreman and the greatest midfielder. You are also missing Anthony koutofidies the greatest untilty better than James Hird and bucks if u have hird u have to have Kouta the best 2 untilty in the 1990s,2000s and in the game and without being biased I rate kouta higher and for a number of reasons.

  2. Also Ian Stewart might be the centeman of the century but diesel is the greatest ever and if I had my way it would be the other way

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *