Match Summary

The 2008 AFL Grand Final was contested by the Geelong Cats and the Hawthorne Hawks. The Geelong cats entered the game as clear favourites, dominating the competition all year, winning 21 of the 22 games during the home and away season. With both teams in red hot form, this Grand final showdown was highly anticipated by all interested parties.

Hawthorn and Geelong were evenly contested for most of the game, locked in a mighty arm wrestle until late in the third quarter, when the Hawks started to exert their dominance over the game. The last quarter saw some some magnificent creative plays led by Cyril Rioli, Mark Williams and Stuart Dew kicking a number of match winning goals to seal the win.

Norm Smith Medallist – Luke Hodge

Team Matchups


B :2 Tom Harley (c)30 Matthew Scarlett8 Josh Hunt
HB :39 Darren Milburn7 Harry Taylor4 Andrew Mackie
C :14 Joel Selwood45 Cameron Ling44 Corey Enright
HF :20 Steve Johnson21. Cameron Mooney3 Jimmy Bartel
F :35 Paul Chapman13 Tom Lonergan27 Mathew Stokes
Foll :6 Brad Ottens11 Joel Corey29 Gary Ablett Jr.
Int :24 Mark Blake5 Travis Varcoe9 James Kelly
33 Max Rooke

Coach – Mark Thompson


B :27 Stephen Gilham24 Trent Croad18 Brent Guerra
HB :14 Grant Birchall15 Luke Hodge4 Rick Ladson
C :3 Jordan Lewis5 Sam Mitchell (c)11 Clinton Young
HF :7 Michael Osborne23 Lance Franklin33 Cyril Rioli
F :6 Mark Williams2 Jarryd Roughead30 Campbell Brown
Foll :39 Robert Campbell12 Brad Sewell10 Chance Bateman
Int :31 Stuart Dew8 Xavier Ellis34 Brent Renouf
9 Shane Crawford

Coach – Alastair Clarkson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.